Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 12, 2009 Office of the County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Kathy M. Luthi, Commissioner Ray McGavran, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luthi.

The official minutes of January 5, 2009, and January 8, 2009, were approved and signed.

Commissioner-Elect Jim Kay was present.

Vouchers were approved.

The commissioners approved the Application for License to Retail Cereal Malt Beverages and Notice to Township Board for Terry Robins d/b/a Minneapolis Raceway.

Todd Heitschmidt, Court Administrator, stopped in and thanked the commissioners for letting them do some updates in the courtroom.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, reported on turning the office over to the new county attorney today.

Janelle Kirn and John Kirn, stopped in and reported on their building fire.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported on upcoming bids for culverts, asphalt, and grader blades. John talked on what crews were doing.

Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Department, came in and gave the board the KDOT budget grant.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff-Elect, gave prisoner count of 26.

At noon, elected officials were sworn in for the start of a new four-year term. Those being sworn in James Kay, Commissioner #2, Ray McGavran, Commissioner #3, Mary Arganbright, County Clerk, Betty Mick, County Attorney, Marilyn Heck, Register of Deeds, and Keith Coleman, County Sheriff.

The Board of County Commissioners held reorganization.

Commissioner Luthi moved to nominate Commissioner McGavran as Chairman. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Kay moved to nominate Commissioner Luthi as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for the year 2009. Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Rory

Office of the County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Tillett, Emergency Management Coordinator, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Administrator, and Jettie Condray, Museum Curator. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: Bennington State Bank, Minneapolis, Bennington State Bank, Bennington, Ottawa County Bank, State Bank of Delphos, and Bank of Tescott. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Kay moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper: Minneapolis Messenger for the year 2009. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.