Office of the County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Ray McGavran, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman McGavran.

The official minutes of April 20, 2009, were approved and signed.

Commissioner Kay moved to reappoint Ralph Meyer and Steve Carlson to the Hospital Board for the term of 2009 through 2013. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

Pat Baccus, County Treasurer, talked to the commissioners about the internet fraud issue. Her office checks balances every day with each of the banks on-line. She thought that the county had a good check and balance procedure.

Vouchers were approved.

John Denney, Lindburg, Vogel, Pierce, Faris & Co., County Auditor, stopped in and visited with audit control matters.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. The commissioners approved a solid waste fee exemption for Vince Manship, Delphos. The group discussed 2010 budget preparation for road and bridge, and special bridge.

Rosie Walter, Community Corrections, presented the Kansas Department of Correction Fiscal Year 2010 Comprehensive Plan application. The commissioners signed the application.

Keith Coleman, County Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 32, Johnson County 5, and Ottawa County 2. Keith reported on a leak at the jail.

Rory Tillett, Emergency Management, stopped in and the commissioners talked to him about procedures in his office.

Scott Norris, Bennington, stopped in and asked the commissioners about flood plain issues. He asked if the county had any meetings planned. The commissioners said not at this point.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 10:56 a.m.