Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners May 14, 2018 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Second District Commissioner James P. Kay, Third District Commissioner Karen S. Brumbaugh, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

Pastor James Blake opened the meeting in prayer, and Commissioner Brumbaugh led the group in the flag salute.

Vouchers were approved.

An abatement was approved.

Pastor James Blake, and Robert Boss, were observers.

Sheila Nelson-Stout, and Patrick Wallerius, OCCK, presented the 2019 budget for consideration.

Commissioner Kay moved to go into executive session at 8:55 a.m. for fifteen minutes for attorney/client matters. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioners and Richard Buck, County Attorney. They returned to regular session at 9:10 a.m. No decision was made. Commissioner Kay moved to go into executive session at 9:12 a.m. for twenty minutes for attorney/client matters. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioners, and Richard Buck, County Attorney. They returned to regular session at 9:32 a.m. No decision was made.

Marilyn Heck, Register of Deeds, brought in her 2019 budget proposal for consideration.

Prisoner count was reported Saline County 50, and Ottawa County 2.

Matt Dixon, Custodian, presented his 2019 budget for consideration.

Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, updated the board on House Bill 2583 Kansas Noxious Weed Act, that was signed by the Governor last week. This bill allows noxious weeds to be placed under regulation instead of Legislation. It will make it easier and quicker to declare a weed noxious. Kenny went over several other aspects of the bill. Kenny went over chemical sales with the commissioners.

Dennis Frain, Culver Fire Department #5, presented the fire department's 2019 budget for consideration.

With no other business before the board, Commissioner Kay moved to adjourn at 10:45 a.m. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 2-0.