Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 9, 2006 Office of the County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Ray McGavran, Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Kathy M. Luthi, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman McGavran at 8:00 a.m.

The official minutes of January 3, 2006, were read, approved, and signed.

Added's and abatement's were approved.

Commissioner Luthi moved to revise the Disposal of Dilapidated Housing Program, striking Section 3. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

At 8:30 a.m. the commissioners held a hearing to address a petition filed by Dennis Rhoden, Niles, to vacate an alley described as follows: Northeast corner of Block One (1), Niles Original Town, North 20 feet then West 150 feet, South 20 feet, East 150 feet to point of beginning, Lincoln Township. Those present were JR & Joan Sullivan, Lloyd Turner, Robert Duggan, and Dennis Rhoden. After discussion, the commissioners wanted to look at the alley, so they will meet next Tuesday, at Niles, at 8:15 a.m.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, discussed delinquent taxes. The group also talked about juvenile issues

Janice Davidson, Emergency Management, came in and the commissioners signed Resolution 06-03, declaring a State of Local Disaster Emergency(Burn Ban).

Deb Byarlay, and Glennance Kirn, Central Kansas Mental Health, gave the board a year end update on services.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, gave the commissioners the quotes on chip rock. He discussed what crews were doing.

Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Director, talked to the commissioners about a meeting she wanted to attend. She discussed health and aging department issues.

Ken White, County Sheriff, gave prisoner count of 41.

Truette McQueen, County Appraiser, met with the board and gave an update on his department.

At noon, the Board of County Commissioners held reorganization.

Commissioner Luthi moved to elect Commissioner McCullick as Chairman of the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Luthi moved to elect Commissioner McGavran as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 9, 2006 Office of the County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Commissioner McGavran moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for the year 2006: Harvey Henderson, Noxious Weed Administrator, Janice Davidson, Emergency Management Coordinator, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Department Director, and Jettie Condray, Museum Curator. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: United Branch of the Bennington State Bank, Bennington State Bank, Ottawa County Bank, State Bank of Delphos, and Bank of Tescott. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following as the official county newspapers: Minneapolis Messenger, and the Delphos Sun/Republican. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.