The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, Commissioner Ray McGavran, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Luthi.

The official minutes of March 19, 2007, were read, approved, and signed.

At 8:15 a.m., the commissioners held four proposed alley closings. Those present were Dave and Matt Atkinson. The first alley described as follows: Beginning at Lot One (1) Block One (1), Section Seven (7), Township Eleven (11) Range Two (2), West of the 6th P.M., Lakeview addition of Richland Township, Ottawa County, Kansas. Commissioner McGavran moved to close the alley. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Resolution 07-11 was signed. At 8:20 a.m., the second alley described as follows: Beginning at South Twenty Foot (20') of Lot Two (2), and continuing through Lots Three (3), Lot Four (4), and Lot (5), and the North Half (1/2) of Lot Six (6) all in Block One (1) of Section Seven (7), Township Eleven (11), Range Two (2), West of the 6th P.M., Lakeview addition of Richland Township, Ottawa County, Kansas. Commissioner McGavran moved to close the alley. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Resolution 07-12 was signed. Norma Windholz joined the group. At 8:25 a.m., the third alley described as follows: Beginning at the South 1/2 of Lot Six (6), and continuing through Lot Eight (8) all in Block One (1), Section Seven (7) Township Eleven (11) Range Two (2), West of the 6th P.M., Lakeview addition of Richland Township, Ottawa County, Kansas. Commissioner McGavran moved to close the alley. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Resolution 07-13 was signed. Joe and Cherryl Watkins joined the group. The fourth alley as described as follows: Beginning at Lot One (1) Block Two (2) and continuing through Lot Two (2) Block Two (2), and also the street between Lot One (1) Block Two (2) and Lot Eight (8) Block One (1), in the Northeast (NE) corner of Section Seven (7), Township Eleven (11) Range Two (2), West of the 6th P.M., Lakeview addition of Richland Township, Ottawa County, Kansas. Commissioner McGavran moved to close said alley and street. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Resolution 07-14 was signed.

Commissioner McCullick moved to give the County Election Officer permission to destroy election ballots of November 4, 2004, March 7, 2006, and April 4, 2006, pursuant to K.S.A. 25-2708. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, discussed legal matters. Commissioner McGavran moved to go into executive session at 9:02 a.m. for attorney/client matters for five minutes. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners, Bruce, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright. They returned to regular session at 9:07 a.m. No decision was made.

Bill and Janelle Kirn, and Richard Pieschl, met with the board and discussed the Right-of-Way the State gave title to the County in Concord Township, Section Twenty-three (23).

Vouchers were approved.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, met with the commissioners. Also present was Ron Karn, Berry Tractor, and Garrett Clay, Foley Tractor. John discussed roads and bridges.

Commissioner McGavran moved to go into executive session at 10:31 a.m. for twenty minutes to discuss attorney/client matters. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners, Bruce Barefield, and Ken White, County Sheriff. They returned to regular session at 10:51 a.m. No decision was made. Prisoner count is 53.

At 11:00 a.m., the commissioners held a township meeting with Jon Paul Nelson, David Davidson, Richland Township, Kent Baldock, Sherman Township, Jim Klein, Sheridan Township. The commissioners explained the redistricting that went into effect the end of last year. The commissioners discussed the billing procedures.

Karen Probert, and Sara Hodges, Ottawa County Planning Commission, talked to the board about dentist recruitment.

Commissioner McCullick moved to reappoint Tom McGavran to the Hospital Board for the term through 2011. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.