Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 11, 2010 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Ray McGavran, Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman McGavran.

The official minutes of January 4, 2010, were approved and signed.

Sandy Cline, Aging Department, gave the commissioners a letter of support to KDOT for operating funds for the transportation grant she had drafted. The commissioners signed the letter of support. Sandy gave the board comments in an email from Joy Johnson, Ottawa County Health Center, sent her in regards to the transportation matter they are working on.

Vouchers were approved.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, gave the board the contract from RMA Engineering LLC for the engineering services for the 5 ½ miles on 801 Highway. The commissioners will have the county attorney look at it.

Added's and abatement's were approved.

Truette McQueen, County Appraiser, talked to the commissioners about a bill from Manatron, software company, in which the software company needs to revise a program since the new state program Orion was changed. The commissioners approved.

Russ Thornton, Undersheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 20, Ottawa County 1, and Saline County 1. Russ said they are cutting schedules back on the correction side. The commissioners suggested touching base with some other counties for prisoners.

The Board of County Commissioners held reorganization.

Commissioner Kay moved to nominate Commissioner McGavran remain as Chairman of the Board. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Luthi moved to nominate Commissioner Kay as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Kay seconded Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for the year 2010. Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Rory Tillett, Emergency Management Coordinator, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 11, 2010 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Administrator, and Jettie Condray, Museum Curator. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Kay moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: Bennington State Bank, Minneapolis, Bennington State Bank, Bennington, Ottawa County Bank, State Bank of Delphos, and Bank of Tescott. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Kay moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper: Minneapolis Messenger for the year 2010. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board the meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.