The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Ray McGavran, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman McCullick.

The official minutes of January 2, 2007, were read, approved, and signed.

Abatements were approved.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, reported on legal issues.

Mike Smith, Fire Department #2, talked to the board on the 2006 and 2007 budget.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported that they are having a safety meeting this Thursday in the basement. John said that he will be starting to put asphalt quotes together. John said that he would be putting culvert quotes together also. The commissioners approved the quote for John to go ahead and hire to have rock crushed. Commissioner Luthi moved to go into executive session at 10:28 a.m. for ten minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Those present were the commissioners, John, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk. They returned to regular session at 10:38 a.m. No decision was made.

Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Administrator, talked to the commissioners about department budgets and a grant she would like to apply for.

Ken White, County Sheriff, gave prisoner count of 49. Commissioner Luthi moved to go into executive session at 11:07 a.m. for five minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Those present were commissioners, Ken, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk. They returned to regular session at 11:12 a.m. No decision was made.

The Board of County Commissioners held reorganization.

Commissioner McGavran moved to nominate Commissioner Luthi as Chairman. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner McGavran moved nominations cease. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner as Chairman of the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Luthi moved to elect Commissioner McGavran as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McGavran moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for the year 2007: Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Janice Davidson, Emergency Management, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Department, and Jettie Condray, Museum Curator. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McGavran moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: United Branch of the Bennington State Bank, Bennington State Bank, Ottawa County Bank, State Bank of Delphos, and Bank of Tescott. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McGavran moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper: Minneapolis Messenger for the year 2007. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.