Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners August 2, 2010 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Ray McGavran, Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman McGavran.

The official minutes of July 26, 2010, were approved and signed.

Commissioner Luthi moved to appoint Craig Smith as the Henry Township Trustee. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Betty Mick, County Attorney, talked to the commissioners on an issue they have her researching.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, gave the commissioners a copy of a letter in response to a citizen's complaint on a road. John reported on what crews were doing.

Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Department, came in and gave the commissioners the Preparedness Grant to be signed. Commissioner Luthi moved to sign the amended contract between The Kansas Department of Health and Environment and Ottawa County Health Department. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 45, Saline County 2, Cloud County 2, and Ottawa County 4. Keith discussed transport issues that occurred last week. Keith said that an officer used the taser on a drunk and disorderly individual. The group interviewed applicants for the Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator. Applicants Elisha Carter, Kent Boster, and Rondee Thrush.

At 1:00 p.m., the commissioners held interviews for the part-time economic development director position. Todd Shanks attended the interviews. Those applying and interviewing were Angie Perry, Bria Scott, and Virginia Hoover.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, came in and the group discussed the Deputy Emergency Management interviews.

With no further business before the board the meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.