The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Ray McGavran, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Luthi.

The official minutes of January 28, 2008, was read, approved, and signed.

The commissioners examined and confirmed the Annual Township reports of Fountain, and Sherman.

Commissioner McCullick moved to accept Eric McCullick's resignation from the Fire Department #2, Minneapolis, and accept the addition of Travis Ernzen and Tim Korbe. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

Judge Thrower and Todd Heitschmidt, District Court, talked to the commissioners about changing some line item budget amounts.

Vouchers were approved.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, reported on civil issues.

Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, brought up the annual eradication report, and the annual Noxious Weed Plan to be approved. The commissioners signed the reports.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, met with the board. Others present were Jeff Lott, Lott Implement, Mark Johnson, Sellers Equipment, Jamie Rice, Concordia Tractor, and Rob Thompson, Lincoln Farm Supply. Each salesman presented their quotes, and no decision was made at this time.

Mark Freel, Economic Development, talked to the board on the benefits to the county by joining North Central Regional Planning Commission.

Ken White, County Sheriff, gave prisoner count of 35.

Keith Coleman, Emergency Management Coordinator, brought up the State of Kansas Designation of Applicant's Authorized Representative authorizing him to sign for FEMA items. The commissioners signed the Environmental Services Agreement between GeoCore Inc., and Ottawa County for drilling services at the emergency pit at the lake.

Commissioner McGavran moved to pay the dues for North Central Regional Planning Commission for 2008 for \$3,500. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Truette McQueen, County Appraiser, Robert Wasko, Attorney, and Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, discussed a special use to establish a storage facility for fireworks in the A-1 agriculture district on certain lands located in Ottawa County, Kansas, under the authority granted by the zoning regulations of the county, Case No. SU-003-2007, Richard Krehbiel. Commissioner McGavran moved to accept Resolution 08-03 in regards to the above. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Truette discussed the application for fireworks fee. After discussion it was decided to charge \$150 for an application.

At noon, the commissioners held the annual solid waste meeting. Those present were Mike Willis, Tescott City, Penny Day, Bennington City, Songie McCall, Minneapolis City, Dave Hardesty, Landfill Operator, Jim Murphy, Culver City, Elbert Drummond, Minneapolis, Karen Kiser and Arnie Alderson, Delphos City, John Cashatt, Schab-Eaton, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, Bobby Hudson, Minneapolis City, and Brett Johnson. Commissioner Luthi went over the Waste Tire Amnesty Program, the Solid Waste tonnage hauled to Salina report, and the 2007 budget report. The report from the Ottawa Recycling Center was read. Spring clean-up was set for May 5-10, 2008 and Fall clean-up was set for October 6-11, 2008. John Cashatt gave an update on issues. Jim Murphy moved to elect Judy Swagerty as Chairperson for 2008. Brett Johnson seconded. Motion carred. Bobby Hudson moved to elect Jim Murphy as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.