8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, Commissioner Harold McCullick, Commissioner Ray McGavran, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Luthi.

The official minutes of January 7, 2008, was read, approved, and signed.

Vouchers were approved.

The commissioners examined and confirmed the Annual Report of Garfield Township.

Janice Davidson, Emergency Management Coordinator, met with the commissioners, and Commissioner McCullick moved to go into executive session at 8:30 a.m. for fifteen minutes for non-elected personnel. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners and Janice. They returned to regular session at 8:45 a.m. No decision was made.

Commissioner McGavran moved to change the disbursement percentages for the 3 mill levy of the Ambulance fund, as recommended by the Ambulance Task Force, as follows: Minneapolis-54%; Delphos-12%, with Minneapolis receiving 3/4 of that percent and Delphos keeping 1/4; Bennington-30%; and Miltonvale-4%. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Bruce Barefield, County Attorney, visited on legal issues.

Brian Kindall, Fair Board, presented the commissioners with the 2007 report. Brian said that this year the dates for the fair would be July 15,16,17,18, and there would be no carnival this year.

Commissioner McGavran moved to go into executive session at 9:45 a.m. for fifteen minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners. They returned to regular session at 10:00 a.m. No decision was made.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, and John Cashatt, Schwab-Eaton, discussed roads and bridges of the county.

Abatements were approved.

Sonny Sagar, Infinitec, gave the commissioners an overview of the AS400, and discussed the upcoming upgrade.

Ken White, County Sheriff, talked to the board on employee matters. Ken gave prisoner count of 19.

Keith Coleman, Emergency Management Coordinator, talked to the board about the debris at the cemeteries, and what FEMA has been telling them.

8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Resolution 08-01 was signed, determining that the financial statements and financial reports for the year ended 12/31/08 to be prepared in conformity with the requirements of Kansas Statute.

The Board of County Commissioners held reorganization.

Commissioner McGavran moved to nominate Commissioner Luthi as Chairman. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner McGavran moved to cease nominations, and unanimously vote for Commissioner Luthi. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner McGavran moved to elect Commissioner McCullick as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McCullick moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for the year 2008: Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Keith Coleman, Emergency Management Coordinator, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Cline, Health/Aging Administrator, and Jettie Condray, Museum Curator. Commissioner McCullick seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McCullick moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: United Branch of the Bennington State Bank, Bennington State Bank, Ottawa County Bank, State Bank of Delphos, and Bank of Tescott. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner McCullick moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper: Minneapolis Messenger for the year 2008. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.