Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 9, 2017 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Kathy M. Luthi, Commissioner Karen S. Brumbaugh, Commissioner James P. Kay, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

Commissioner Luthi opened the meeting in prayer, then led the group in the flag salute.

Vouchers were approved.

Abatement's were approved.

Carl Eyman, KWORCC, stopped in and presented the commissioners with premium and loss information for Ottawa County, and presented the commissioners with a plaque for Exceptional Loss Ratios for 2015.

Shannon Luthi, Highway Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. Shannon discussed snow removal at the Museum and the Hospital. Shannon is working on the septic issue at the shop. Shannon asked if the commissioners had any opinions about him sending employees to training. The commissioners said no, it was at his discretion. Shannon gave the commissioners information for a new vehicle proposal he would like to get.

At 10:00 a.m., the commissioners attended swearing in of newly elected officials.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Saline County 47, Sedgwick County 2, City of Minneapolis 1, and Ottawa County 6.

Commissioner Luthi moved to nominate James P. Kay as Chairman of the Ottawa County Commissioners for 2017. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Commissioner Brumbaugh moved to nominate Kathy M. Luthi as Vice-Chairman of the Ottawa County Commissioners for 2017. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Commissioner Luthi moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for 2017: Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Marie Ballou, Emergency Management Coordinator, Shannon Luthi, Highway Administrator, Matt Dixon, Custodian, Sara Hodges, Health/Aging Administrator, Jettie Condray, Museum Curator, and Phil Aumick, Economic Development Director. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories for 2017: Bennington State Bank, Minneapolis; Bennington State Bank, Bennington; Citizens State Bank, Minneapolis; Citizens State Bank, Delphos; and Bank of Tescott, Tescott. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 9, 2017 carried, 3-0. Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper for 2017: Minneapolis Messenger. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Kayla Paige, Delphos City Mayor, talked to the commissioners about the Delphos Rural Housing Authority solid waste fee of \$800 on the tax statement. Kayla explained that Delphos gets no funding to run the Housing Authority, as it's subsidized by the rent received. The commissioners explained that they are 8 apartments there, and it's treated like each other apartment complex and residence at \$100 per year. The commissioners gave Kayla a solid waste exemption form to fill out, and indicate on there that it's a non-profit entity and that they don't receive any funding, and the commissioners will make their determination to treat it as non-profit at \$50 a year. Kayla said that she had received the comprehensive plan document and wondered who she went to for resources. The commissioners said to get with Phil Aumick, Economic Development Director.

With no further business before the board, Commissioner Luthi moved to adjourn at 11:45 a.m. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.