Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners May 2, 2011 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner Ray McGavran, Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk.

Commissioner Kay opened the meeting in the flag salute and prayer.

The official minutes of April 25, 2011, were approved and signed.

Judge Thrower, visited with the commissioners on a situation.

Commissioner McGavran moved to go into executive session for non-elected personnel at 8:22 a.m., for fifteen minutes. Commissioner Luthi seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners and Terry Walker, employee. They returned to regular session at 8:37 a.m. No decision was made.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. John gave the commissioners a solid waste exemption from Bennington State Bank for property at 301 E 7th, Delphos, which was approved. John went over some classes he will attend. Commissioner Luthi moved to go into executive session at 9:16 a.m. for ten minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners and John. They returned to regular session at 9:26 a.m. No decision was made.

Annie Grevas, Community Corrections, went over the Fiscal Year 2012 Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Counsel JAG application and the Kansas Department of Corrections Comprehensive Plan Grant applications. Commissioner Luthi moved to submit the Kansas Department of Corrections Comprehensive Plan Grant. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Luthi moved to submit the Fiscal Year 2012 Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Counsel JAG application. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 24, and Ottawa County 4. Keith said that he had a preliminary contract from KDOC, which he went over and sent it back to them with revisions.

At 10:30 a.m., the commissioners held a zoning hearing for Ottawa County Fire District

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners May 2, 2011 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

#4, fire station/EMS building. Commissioner Luthi moved to accept the recommendation to award a special use permit to Ottawa County Fire District #4, SU-001-2011. Commissioner McGavran seconded. Motion carried. Those present were Truette McQueen, Zoning Administrator.

The commissioners signed a new ACH agreement with Bennington State Bank for direct deposit.

The commissioners worked on 2012 budgets.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.