Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 12:30 p.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

Commissioner Luthi opened the meeting in the flag salute and prayer.

For the record, at 12:00 p.m., elected officials were sworn in for the term of January 2013-January 2017: James P Kay, 2nd District Commissioner, Karen Brumbaugh, 3rd District Commissioner, Mary Arganbright, County Clerk, Jason C Parks, County Attorney, Marilyn J Heck, County Register of Deeds, and Keith Coleman, County Sheriff

The Board of County Commissioners held re-organization.

Commissioner Luthi moved to nominate Commissioner Kay as Chairman of the Board for 2013. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Kay moved to nominate Commissioner Luthi as Vice-Chairman for 2013. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for 2013. Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator, Marie Ballou, Emergency Management Coordinator, John Copple, Highway Administrator, Ken Stelter, Custodian, Sandy Spani, Health/Aging Administrator, Jettie Condray, Museum Curator, Phil Aumick, Economic Development Director, and Allen Brown, Road Foreman. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories: Bennington State Bank, Minneapolis, Bennington State Bank, Bennington, Ottawa County Bank, Minneapolis, State Bank of Delphos, Delphos, and Bank of Tescott, Tescott. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper: Minneapolis Messenger for 2013. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Annual Report of Center, Chapman, and Lincoln Townships were examined and confirmed by the commissioners. Commissioner Luthi moved to purchase \$10,000 bonds for each township treasurer of Ottawa County for 2013, per K.S.A. 80-203, through Davidson Agency, Minneapolis. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. In discussion, Commissioner Luthi stated the County Clerk will notify each township and let them know that when they do their budgets for 2014, they can budget for it then.

Abatement's were approved.

Vouchers were approved.

Commissioner Luthi moved to go into executive session at 12:50 p.m. for ten minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners and Mary Arganbright, County Clerk. They returned to regular session at 1:00 p.m., with no decision.

Jason Parks, County Attorney, stopped in to see if the commissioners needed anything.

Truette McQueen, Appraiser, brought up his recommendation for raises. Truette reported that there are zoning board members whose terms are up, Arlen Bacon, Bob Klein, and Kelly Zuker. Bob Klein and Kelly Zuker did not want re-appointed. The group will work on getting recommendations.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. John brought up the agreement with Elite Engineering Services for the fracture critical bridge inspections. The commissioners will have the County Attorney look over first. John gave the board a form his office drew up for individuals to fill out for Harvesting Hay on a County right-of-Way.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 4, and Ottawa County 2. Keith gave the commissioners quotes for an utility vehicle. Landmark Dodge, 2013 Durango, \$25,356; Midway Motors Chrysler, 2013 Durango, \$28,263; Ford, utility, \$26,027; and Don Hattan Chevrolet, 2013 Tahoe, \$28,750. Because of prior service on

Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 12:30 p.m. Regular Session

the Dodge's, Keith would like to try the Tahoe. Commissioner Luthi moved to give Keith authority to purchase the Tahoe from Don Hatton Chevrolet for \$28,750. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Keith said that they are out of contract with Verizon Wireless on their phones, and is visiting with a representative to upgrade. Commissioner Luthi moved to go into executive session for non-elected personnel at 3:05 p.m. for ten minutes. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Those present were the commissioners and Keith. They returned to regular session at 3:15 p.m., with no decision made.

Commissioner Luthi moved to appoint Arlen Bacon, Jeff McHenry, and Phil Ballou to the zoning board for a three-year term. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

Phil Aumick, Economic Development Director, reported that he would like to renew Economic Development dues for 2013. Commissioner Luthi moved to give Phil authority to renew Kansas Economic dues, and attend the legislative meeting in January. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

The minutes of January 14, 2013, were read and approved.

Commissioner Luthi moved to appoint Commissioner Brumbaugh as the representative to the North Central Regional Planning Commission board. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Luthi moved to pay the 2013 North Central Regional Planning Commission membership fee for \$3,500. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.