Minutes of ProceedingOffice of the Ottawa County ClerkOttawa County Board of Commissioners8:00 a.m.March 11, 2019Regular SessionThe Board of Commissioners met in regular session with First District Commissioner Dawn Wolf, Second DistrictCommissioner James P. Kay, Third District Commissioner Karen S. Brumbaugh, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

Commissioner Kay opened the meeting in prayer then led the group in the flag salute.

The Annual Township Report of Garfield Township was examined and confirmed by the commissioners.

Abatements were approved.

Vouchers were approved.

Truette McQueen, Zoning Administrator, held a zoning hearing in the matter of the vacation of Hawk's Hill Subdivision, legal described as follows: Hawk's Hill Subdivision, Block 1 Lots 1 through 8, Block 2 Lots 1 through 13, Block 3 Lots 1 through 10, Block 4 Lots 1 through 9, and all roadways and connections in above referred plat. Commissioner Wolf moved to accept the recommendation of the zoning board to vacate the property known as Hawk's Hill Subdivision. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Greg Dockins, Road and Bridge Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. Greg said they will be mailing in the request for Federal Fund Exchange funds today. Commissioner Brumbaugh moved to accept the proposal from Lockner for Ottawa County Landfill Professional Design Services, for \$3,900, for the new waste water management pond and modifications to the new cell at the landfill. Commissioner Wolf seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Sara Hodges, Health/Aging Administrator, brought in the signature page for the 2020 State Aid-to-Local grant application for the commissioners to sign. The grant period will start July 1, 2019-June 30, 2020. Chairman Kay signed the application.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Saline County 36, and Ottawa County 4. Most of the roof is done on the new addition and the roof is fixed where it was leaking.

The commissioners held a department head meeting at 10:30 a.m. Those present were Mary Arganbright, County Clerk; Marie Ballou, Emergency Management Coordinator; Marilyn Heck, Register of Deeds; Samantha Davis, Museum Curator; JoDee Copple, County Treasurer; Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator; Greg Dockins, Road and Bridge Administrator; Truette McQueen, County Appraiser; Sara Hodges, Health/Aging Administrator; Matt Dixon, Custodian; and Keith Coleman, Sheriff. Commissioner Kay started by stating the legislature has numerous bills in legislation, and for department heads to voice their opinions. A purchasing policy and the revision of the employee handbook hopefully will be finished this year. Commissioner Kay discussed the walk-through that Department of Homeland Security did several weeks ago. Commissioner Kay said they have made no decision's yet, including locking any doors. Commissioner Kay went through what has been done so far, as the Clerk has been updating a spreadsheet that has been going out as items are done. Matt went through what he has done. The commissioners inquired about the Jury room being locked, with the accessibility of the restrooms being taken away. Matt explained the rekeying process. Commissioner Wolf discussed Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners March 11, 2019 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

making sure each department has their website updated, she also mentioned in the case the courthouse was destroyed, do departments heads have their passwords stored offsite, in the event having to do their jobs at another site. Marie had several estimates for AED recommendations that DHS made. It was agreed that Marie go ahead with the purchase of those items. Matt went through some other items on his list. Matt discussed the East and West entrance doors. He would like to remove the interior doors that are not used. He would like to remove the hardware on the exterior doors that are not used. The commissioners wanted the committee to think about it.

With no other business before the board, Commissioner Wolf moved to adjourn at 12:00 p.m. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.