Commissioner Kay opened the meeting in prayer and then led the group in the flag salute.

Mary Arganbright, Ottawa County Clerk, gave the board the minutes from January 4, 2021. Commissioner Wolf moved to approve the January 4, 2021, minutes. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Mary gave the commissioners the Lease-Purchase Agreement from Bennington State Bank for the 2021 Caterpillar motor grader for \$120,467.14, for 5-years at 2.130%, to sign. The commissioners signed the agreement.

Commissioner Wolf gave Commissioner Brumbaugh and Commissioner Kay Certifications of Appreciation for their dedication to Ottawa County and thanked them for their years of service.

With no further business before this board, Commissioner Wolf moved to adjourn at 8:08 a.m. Commissioner Kay seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. The swearing-in of elected officials was held at 8:15 a.m., in the courtroom, for the new terms of 2021-2025. Those being sworn in were Second District Commissioner Scott Mortimer, Third District Commissioner D. D. Malmberg, County Clerk Mary Arganbright, County Register of Deeds Marilyn Heck, County Sheriff Keith Coleman, and County Attorney Richard Buck.

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with First District Commissioner Dawn Wolf, Second District Commissioner Scott Mortimer, Third District Commissioner D. D. Malmberg and County Clerk Mary Arganbright. Commissioner Wolf moved to open the meeting at 8:25 a.m. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

The commissioners held re-organization.

Commissioner Malmberg moved to nominate Commissioner Wolf as board chairman for the year 2021. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Commissioner Mortimer moved to nominate Commissioner Malmberg as vice-chairman for the year 2021. Commissioner Wolf seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Commissioner Malmberg moved to re-appoint the following department heads for their respective offices for 2021: Kenny Baccus, Noxious Weed Administrator; Marie Ballou, Emergency Management Coordinator; Josh Brown, Custodian; Sara Hodges, Health/Aging Administrator; Greg Dockins, Road & Bridge Administrator, and Samantha Davis, Museum Curator. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Commissioner Wolf moved to designate the following banks as the County's official depositories for 2021: Bennington State Bank, Minneapolis; Bennington State Bank, Bennington; Citizens State Bank, Minneapolis; Citizens State Bank, Delphos; and Bank of Tescott, Tescott. Commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Commissioner Wolf moved to designate the following as the official county newspaper for 2021: Messenger Publishing Company. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Mary Arganbright, Ottawa County Clerk, gave the commissioners vouchers, and abatement's, which were approved, and VISA statements for review. She gave the board the Budget Activity Report for the month ending December 2020. She gave the board an email from North Central Regional Planning Commission, indicating the commissioners needed to appoint a board member to the North Central Regional Planning Commission Executive Board, since the retirement of Commissioner Brumbaugh. Commissioner Wolf moved to appoint Commissioner Malmberg as the representative from Ottawa County. Commissioner Mortimer seconded.

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners January 11, 2021 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

Motion carried, 3-0. Mary went over the list of township officers that needed appointed today since the start of new terms begin today for township trustees and treasurers. Commissioner Malmberg moved to appoint Kirby Smith as Bennington Township Trustee, Nick Krueger, Bennington Township Treasurer, Steve Haley, Buckeye Township Trustee, and Jim Struble, Concord Township Trustee. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Commissioner Malmberg moved to go into executive session at 8:46 a.m. for ten minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. They returned to regular session at 8:56 a.m. No decision was made. Commissioner Mortimer moved to go into executive session at 8:56 a.m. for four minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commission at 8:56 a.m. for four minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. They returned to regular session at 8:56 a.m. No decision was made. Commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioners and Mary Arganbright, Ottawa County Clerk. They returned to regular session at 8:56 a.m. Ko decision was made.

Greg Dockins, Road & Bridge Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. Greg gave the board an Agreement between the Secretary of Transportation, Kansas Department of Transportation, and Ottawa County for the construction of straightening the curve (Doering Curve), Limestone Road. Greg said that he is needing to purchase motor grader blades. Greg discussed getting crushed concrete. Sharon Flegler, Concord Township Treasurer was present. The group discussed the 135<sup>th</sup> Road situation. Greg said that he only had written down what the commissioners talked about last week. He didn't have it typed up yet. Commissioner Wolf said that there was no vote, no action taken last week. The commissioners thought it was the wrong time of year to be doing anything on the road, except cleaning the ditches. Commissioner Mortimer moved to have Greg clean the ditches and haul the dirt off on the West side South ½ mile of 135<sup>th</sup> Road between Laramie Road and K-106 Hwy. and reevaluate the road in the Spring. Commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Saline County 27, Sedgwick County 6, and Ottawa County 3. Keith discussed employee matters with the board. Several options with pay were visited about.

Commissioner Wolf moved to go into executive session at 10:30 a.m. for ten minutes for non-elected personnel. Commissioner Malmberg seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioners and Mary Arganbright, Ottawa County Clerk. They returned to regular session at 10:40 a.m.

Commissioner Malmberg moved to go into executive session at 10:55 a.m. for five minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0. Those present were the commissioners and Marie Ballou, Emergency Management Coordinator. They returned to regular session at 11:00 a.m. It was decided that Marie can continue to use Shelia Reed as her part-time help until January 31, 2021, as needed.

With no further business before this board, Commissioner Malmberg moved to adjourn at 11:33 a.m. Commissioner Mortimer seconded. Motion carried, 3-0.