Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners December 2, 2013 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

The Board of Commissioners met in regular session with Commissioner James P Kay, Commissioner Kathy M Luthi, Commissioner Karen Brumbaugh, and County Clerk Mary Arganbright.

Commissioner Kay opened the meeting in the flag salute, and prayer.

Payroll was approved.

Abatement's were approved.

Commissioner Luthi moved to accept Eldon Janssen's resignation as Lincoln Township Treasurer. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried. Commissioner Luthi moved to appoint Matt Hettenbach as Lincoln Township Treasurer. Commissioner Brumbaugh seconded. Motion carried.

The commissioners signed Resolution 13-32, advising that the road described below might be suitable for vacating: Beginning at the Southeast Corner of Section Thirty (30), Township Eleven South (11S), Range Three West (3W) of the 6th P.M., Ottawa County, Kansas; thence westerly along the South Line of said Section 30 to the Southwest Corner of the East Half of the Southeast Quarter (E ½ SE ¼) of said Section 30; thence northerly along the West Line of said East Half and continuing northerly along the West Line of the East Half of the Northeast Quarter (E ½ NE ¼), 3511 feet, terminating at the southern end of the portion of this road which was closed in 1992, full width of public right-ofway to be vacated.

The commissioners signed Resolution 13-33, advising that the road described below might be suitable for vacating: That portion of the road as originally opened in 1875 and recorded in Road Record Book A, Page 326, which lays along the full length of the West Section Line of Section Thirty-Six (36), Township Twelve South (T12S), Range Four West (R4W) of the 6th P.M., Ottawa County, Kansas; AND the revised location as recorded in Road Record Book E, Page 107 described as follows: Commencing 60 rods south of the Northwest Corner of the Southwest Quarter (NW/c SW 1/4) of Section Thirty-Six (36), Township Twelve South (T12S), Range Four West (R4W) of the 6th

Minutes of Proceeding Ottawa County Board of Commissioners December 2, 2013 Office of the Ottawa County Clerk 8:00 a.m. Regular Session

P.M. and following the River eastbound about 55 rods; thence southwest to about 4 rods of the Southwest Corner of the said SW ¼ on the County Line at the County Bridge, said road being 40 feet in width, intent being to vacate all of the public right-of-way lying along and near to the West Line of said Section 36.

John Copple, Highway Administrator, reported on what crews were doing. John gave the board a solid waste exemption for Jane Johnson, which was approved. John said that he has Rick Bollier looking for a trailer to haul the backhoe that was involved in an accident a few weeks ago.

Deb Byarlay, Kathy Moshier, and Becky Gassman, Central Kansas Mental Health Center, stopped in and Becky introduced Kathy to the board as the new Executive Director for Central Kansas Mental Health Center. They gave the commissioners an update on services in the county.

Keith Coleman, Sheriff, gave prisoner count of Sedgwick County 16, Ottawa County 1, Saline County 2, and Cloud County 1. Keith gave the board a copy of the housing contract from Saline County to house prisoners. The commissioners signed the contract.

Sara Hodges, Ottawa County Health Department Administrator, and Jason Parks, County Attorney, discussed time sheets with the board, and hours. It was decided that the employee's would be at the 8 hours a day, made up with either regular working hours, or taking vacation, or taking sick leave. Sara gave the board an update on what the health department has been doing.

The minutes of December 2, 2013, were read and approved.

With no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 12:25 p.m.