Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes January 22, 2024

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session in Suite 201 at the Ottawa County Courthouse.

Those present were:

First District Commissioner Dawn Wolf, Second District Commissioner Scott Mortimer Third District Commissioner D. D. Malmberg

Heather Maddox, County Clerk Stephanie Watkins, Deputy Clerk

Commissioner Wolf called the meeting to order at 8:00 am and led the group in opening prayer, followed by the flag salute.

Commissioner Wolf opened mail from Citizens State Bank with an interest statement for 2023.

Choose Ottawa County is writing a grant to help underserved families in Ottawa County to get Chromebooks. Wolf stated that she was writing a letter of support to help with this \$350,000 dollar grant application.

County Departments:

Sheriff

Prisoner count Saline County, 12 and Ottawa County 10. Total 22 inmates.

On motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved to adopt Resolution 24-01 to transfer \$35,000 from Fire Department #2's General Fund to the Fire Department #2 Capital Outlay.

JoDee Copple came into the meeting at 8:36 am.

Keith Coleman came into the meeting at 8:52 am.

Coleman, Assistant Emergency Management, brought the commission a Declaration of Disaster for the commission to sign off on.

On motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved to adopt local disaster resolution 24-02 to help cover cost for extreme weather. Coleman informed the commission that Ballou received a grant of \$13,987 to help with wages for Emergency Management salary. Coleman left the meeting at 8:57 am.

Michelle Campbell came into the meeting at 9:00 am. Copple left at 9:02 am

On a motion by Commissioner Malmberg seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote, the Board approved a 60-minute executive session for personnel exemption to discuss non-elected personnel including Wolf, Mortimer, Malmberg, Campbell, Phil Hayes and Heather Poorman with the Arnold Group. To return at 10:02 am.

On a motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved the January 16th, 2023 minutes as corrected.

Claims for Approval: Totaling \$57,128.42

| County General | \$11,106.94 |
|---------------------------|-------------|
| Road & Bridge | \$32,445.24 |
| Solid Waste | \$8.82 |
| Noxious Weed | \$106.20 |
| County Health | \$679.52 |
| Covid Fund | \$5,000.00 |
| Law Enforcement Center | \$1,585.23 |
| Aging | \$60.32 |
| Bennington TWP Road | \$1,819.97 |
| Historical | \$91.00 |

Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes January 22, 2024

| Technology Fund/CLER | \$375.99 |
|-------------------------|------------|
| Vehicle | \$54.80 |
| Election | \$52.29 |
| Sheridan TWP Road | \$2,827.96 |
| Diversion | \$489.68 |
| Appraiser | \$98.39 |
| F.D. #1 O&L General | \$65.09 |
| Jail Commissary | \$260.98 |

On a motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved the claims as presented.

On motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved Resolution 24-03 Pay Scale for 2024.

With no further business before the commission the meeting was adjourned at 10:58 am on motion by Malmberg and seconded by Mortimer. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

| BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF OTTAWA COUNTY, KANSAS |
|---|
| Dawn Wolf, Chairman |
| D.D. Malmberg, Member |
| Scott Mortimer, Member |
| |
| |