Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes December 18, 2023

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session in the Courthouse Basement Meeting room at the Ottawa County Courthouse.

Those present were:

First District Commissioner Dawn Wolf,

Second District Commissioner Scott Mortimer

Heather Maddox, County Clerk Stephanie Watkins, Deputy Clerk

Third District Commissioner D. D. Malmberg Stephanie Watkins, Deputy Clerk Brooke Campbell, Terri Pankow, Shelia Reed, Jodee Copple, Michelle Husted, Sheynne Piper, John Heald, Colton Pearson, Susan Hoge, Cindy Hauck, Jerry Ziolkowski, Aaraon Ziger, Tyler VanCoevern, Reta Fae Kelly, Ken Kelly, Michelle Campbell, Jed Wanzer, Russ Thornton, Dee Velesquez, Vanessa Corona, and Todd Wilson.

Commissioner Mortimer called the meeting to order at 8:00 am and Todd Wilson led the group in opening prayer, followed by the flag salute.

Leeann Sparks, Rick Shupe, Josh Hulse, Cody Flax, Alishia Keifer, Casey Ahlquist, Marie Ballou, Susan Hoge, Michael Jessup, Meg Jessup, Doug Plummer, came into the meeting.

County Departments:

Appraiser

Truette McQueen came into get a contract signed for Kimball Mapping. On motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved to accept the annual contract with Kimball Mapping in the amount of \$11,600.

Commission signed the County Attorneys 5-year service award.

Commissioner Malmberg asked the Clerk if there is a third corrected tax statement going out. The Clerk said there is for County residents that have out of county fire departments in their districts. There are 5 departments.

Claims for Approval: Totaling \$351,723.42

County General	\$16,092.11
Road & Bridge	\$222,094.55
Appraiser	\$11,707.00
Coronavirus Relief Fund	\$2,585.00
Employee Benefits	\$40,529.97
F.D #1 Enforcement Center	\$1,953.00
Noxious Weed	\$167.71
County Health	\$4,159.31
Law Enforcement Center	\$1,953.00
Aging	\$1,174.97
Vehicle	\$49.72
Historical	\$55.75
Technology Fund/CLER	\$141.62
Ottawa County 911 Fund	\$39,229.40
Election	\$4,124.71

Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes December 18, 2023

On a motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved the claims as presented.

Employees of Ottawa County

Shelby Walker and Cindy Hauck discussed concern with the commission on behalf of the Ottawa County Employees about changing from monthly pay to bi-monthly pay and the wage increase on the anniversary dates of employees. Megan Grimes, Laura Bowles, Olivia Husted, and Keith Coleman, came into the meeting. Discussion continued between employees and the commission. At 8:46 am Shelby Walker and Laura Bowles left the meeting. Mortimer said they would take all that was said into consideration. Employees asked when this would be voted on. Mortimer said they will discuss it later in the meeting.

Sheriff

Prisoner count Saline County, 18 and Ottawa County 9. Total 27 inmates.

Russ Thornton discussed with commission about the school districts coming to him about a shared School Resource Officer. This would be split between the school districts and the sheriff's office. A total of \$3,800 for each entity would be the amount from April- June. Each entity would be paying \$15,200 annually, with the county paying all benefits and providing a car and firearm. Alishia Keifer, and Jerry Ziolkowski left. Mortimer said times have changed and he thinks this would be a great idea. Todd Wilson, and Marie Ballou left.

Commission opened Christmas cards from vendors.

Josh Hulse left the meeting.

On a motion by Commissioner Wolf seconded by Commissioner Malmberg, by unanimous vote the Board approved a 15-minute executive session for employee exemption to discuss non-elected personnel including Wolf, Mortimer, and Malmberg. To return at 9:26am.

Dee Velesquez, Megan Grimes, and Laura Bowles came into the meeting.

On motion by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Malmberg, by unanimous vote the Board approved to retain the monthly pay roll. During discussion Malmberg said that she believes that going bi-monthly would be better for the employees, new employees, and the county as a whole. Malmberg said this isn't something that we just came up with. Malmberg said she was just going to vote for what you guys want, but don't bring it up again.

On motion by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved to implement the raise for everyone at the beginning of the year with the Department Heads able to allocate the money as they choose. The amount will be fifty cents per employee for the Department head to decide. Mortimer Yay, Wolf Yay, Malmberg nay,

JoDee Copple, Megan Grimes, Laura Bowles, and Brooke Campbell left the meeting.

Commission talked to Russ Thronton, Sheriff about his department.

Sheynne Piper and Colton Pearson, Olivia Husted, Jed Wanzer and Dee Valesquez left the meeting.

On motion by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved to pay non-elected department heads fifty cents in January. During discussion, Malmberg said she's not opposed to the fifty cents, she would like to see evaluations and forty cents along with longevity raise. Mortimer Yay, Wolf Yay, Malmberg Nay.

On motion by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved to include the Elected Officials excluding the commissioners. Discussion Malmberg asked if there would be pay raises for the rest of the year. Mortimer said depending on what the wage study proves. Mortimer Yay, Wolf Yay, Malmberg Nay for the same reason.

On a motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved the December 11th, 2023 minutes as presented.

Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes December 18, 2023

Malmberg asked how employees like their longevity bonus. Russ said he talked to his employees and they would like to see it monthly rather than a lump sum.

Richard Buck, and Casey Ahlquist left the meeting.

With no further business before the commission the meeting was adjourned at 10:12 am on motion by Wolf and seconded by Malmberg. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

ADOPTED this 2nd day of January 2024.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF OTTAWA COUNTY, KANSAS
	Dawn Wolf, Vice-Chairman
	D.D. Malmberg, Member
ATTEST:	Scott Mortimer, Chairman
——————————————————————————————————————	