Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes November 28th, 2022

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session in suite 201 at the Ottawa County Courthouse.

Those present were:

First District Commissioner Dawn Wolf, Second District Commissioner Scott Mortimer Third District Commissioner D. D. Malmberg County Clerk, Heather Maddox JoDee Copple, County Treasurer/Payroll Clerk

Commissioner Malmberg called the meeting to order at 8:00 am and led the group in opening prayer, followed by the flag salute.

On a motion by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Mortimer, by unanimous vote the Board approved the November 21st, 2022 minutes as presented.

Claims for Approval: Totaling \$483,996.57

2 2 1	+0.1.1.1.0 ==
County General	\$216,119.75
ARPA Funds	\$5,539.60
Road & Bridge	\$4,443.84
Special Bridge	\$16,000.00
Ottawa County 911	\$2,900.00
Noxious Weed	\$729.48
Aging	\$813.11
Sheridan TWP Road	\$3,122.89
County Health	\$678.87
Appraiser	\$11,539.20
Jail Commissary	\$1,084.48
Law Enforcement	\$1,352.70

On a motion by Commissioner Mortimer, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved the claims as presented.

Public Comment: No one present.

County Departments:

Sheriff

Prisoner Count for Ottawa County, 5, Saline 21, Sedgewick 21, for a total of 47.

Clerk

Maddox presented the commission with claims register. She also talked about a grant opportunity for a new picnic table for the outside area. The group discussed keeping track of County inventory.

On a motion by Commissioner Mortimer seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved a 5-minute executive session to discuss non-elected personnel including Wolf, Mortimer, Malmberg, JoDee Copple, Heather Maddox. No decision was made.

Ottawa County Board of Commissioner's Minutes November 28th, 2022

Road and Bridge

On a motion by Commissioner Mortimer seconded by Commissioner Malmberg, by unanimous vote the Board approved a 10-minute executive session to discuss non-elected personnel including Wolf, Mortimer, Malmberg and Chris Smith. No decision was made.

On motion by Commissioner Malmberg, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved Chris Smith as the new Road and Bridge administrator effective December 25th.

Greg Dockins came into the meeting to give the commission job descriptions for his department. Commission talked to Dockins about the Solid Waste budget.

Appraiser

Kim Winsett brought in an updated list of the Zoning board members. Winsett and the commission talked about staying within State compliance with redistricting guidelines.

Commissioners

Ottawa County will be doing a food drive in memory of Darin Vance. If anyone would like to bring canned goods or perishable items to the courthouse there will be a table in the lobby for collection. All items are due by December 19^{th} .

On a motion by Commissioner Mortimer seconded by Commissioner Wolf, by unanimous vote the Board approved a 10-minute executive session to discuss non-elected personal including Wolf, Mortimer, Malmberg. No decision was made.

Upcoming Meetings Commission will attend:

December 5^{th} the commissioners will hold a township board meeting at 6:30~pm in the courthouse basement meeting room.

With no further business before the commission the meeting was adjourned at 11:16 am on motion by Mortimer and seconded by Wolf. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

ADOPTED this 5 th day of December 2022.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF OTTAWA COUNTY, KANSAS
	Dawn Wolf, Member
	D.D. Malmberg, Chairman
ATTEST:	Scott Mortimer, Vice-Chairman
Heather Maddox, County Clerk	